IT Sligo’s Annual College Races

IT Sligo’s Annual College Races

Last Wednesday 23rd March, first year Bachelor of Business in Recreation and Leisure students from IT Sligo organised their annual athletics event. The event which took place at the Institutes Athletics Track commenced 11.00am and concluded at 2.00pm.

The Annual College Races which is in its third year, is a team based athletics event and saw athletes from IT Sligo, the local community and many of the local secondary schools competing to receive the IT Sligo College Races Title 2011.

The first year Recreation and Leisure students were responsible for the successful organising and running of the event. They were required to organise sponsorship, teams and medals, as well as run the event on the day.

This year the event witnessed a turnout of approximately 100 athletes coming from; local schools, businesses, and classes within the Institute itself, which includes an international team. Each team consisted of three males and three females, and they each took part in a track and field event.

The track events were the 100 meters, 400 meters, and 1500 meters race, and the field events are the javelin, long jump, and shot-put. Each member could only partake in one track and one field event, and a team had to be represented by a male and female in all track and field.

The team with the most points at the end of the day were presented with the Martin Sheridan Cup, while medals were presented to the top five teams. Individual prizes were also awarded to those who excelled in each event.

Martin Sheridan, who the cup presented on the day of the college races is in memory of, was one of Irelands top, but forgotten athletes. Martin was part of a group of Irish athletes known as the ‘Irish Whales’, other members included John Jesus Flanagan, Simon Gillis, James Mitchell, Pat McDonald, Paddy Ryan, Matt McGrath and Con Walsh. These fine athletes were highly regarded in their day, but nowadays they are nothing but names.

Martin Sheridan, from Bohola, Co.Mayo was a five-time Olympic gold medallist, and won a total on nine medals. He won the discus event at the 1904, 1906 and 1908 summer Olympics and the Greek discus in 1908. The event was organised under the tutorship of IT Sligo Lecturer Kerry Larkin.

The top five teams were: 5th place: Grange Secondary school and IT Sligo, 4th place: Summerhill and Ursaline Team 2, 3rd place: Summerhill and Ursaline Team 1, 2nd place: Mercy College Sligo, while in 1st place were the Recreation and Leisure year 1 students, IT Sligo (Receiving the College Race’s Martin Sheridan perpetual trophy).

In addition to this there were numerous individual awards given. The individual prizes for outstanding performances going to: Kieran White/Men’s 100m/Mercy College, Sean Finnegan/Men’s 400m/Summerhill, Ryan Monaghan/Men’s 1500m/Mercy College, Annie Bedhorz/Women’s long jump/Mercy College, Katherine Sullivan/Women’s Shot/Recreation and Leisure at IT Sligo, Aileen Gilroy/Women’s Javelin/Mercy College

There were two further prizes for most outstanding athletes on the day. Most Outstanding Woman athlete: Annie Bedhorz/Mercy College, Most Outstanding Male athlete: Ryan Monaghan/Mercy College.



Photo Caption: Participants compete at the Annual College Races at IT Sligo.

Leave a Reply

WhatsApp Click Here to WhatsApp Tara Your Accommodation Questions